My Girl

 By Charlie Lockhart

This is a poem. A poem about
a girl and me. Me and my girl.
In a world where love
lasts and no one is left alone
at night. It isn’t about forgetting.

No. And it isn’t about heartbreak.
My heartbreak.

Once I was normal. Seems
like forever since. In the day
I learnt and went to school. At
night I worked with the other
bees. I was part of a hive. My life
meant nothing. But then I woke up.
Forever ago.

I don’t like crowds and I don’t like
people. But I especially don’t like
being alone at night.
Alone. I do like to be near
my girl. She looks like mine.
Even if her hair is darker and
her lips fuller and her hips wider.

 She is my girl.
Everyday I see her. I see her
everyday and she sees me. I
love it when she looks into my eyes.
I love it when she smiles.

I wonder what her name is. I wonder
if she loves me too. If she watches me
too. From afar, at the counter.
I wonder.

I’ve felt like this so many
times before. So many times.
I wonder what her
name is. I wonder
if she knows when she smiles
that it’s for me.

This poem is for
you. It’s a poem about us. In
a world of walls. A world of
Counters and shelves and
Heartbreak.

No.
This poem isn’t about all the times
I wasn’t seen.

~ Chelsea Lockhart

One thought on “My Girl

Leave a Reply

