Empire

Empire
by Anonymous

You’re made of stone
But stone can crumble
Under the pressure of a cold embrace

 And on your own
You thrive on struggle
But under the real lights you hide your face

 

So before you drift
Away from earth again
Savour a glance of your empire
And if it’s your last, dear
Oh please act surprised
And this time I’ll promise to avert my eyes

Like infamous sketches
You’re out on display
But canvas is breakable and lines can be erased

 

While they applaud your pose
As the Martyr princess
You fear becoming
Just another case

 So before you drift
Away from earth again
Savour a glance of your empire
And if it’s your last, dear
Oh please act surprised
And this time I’ll promise to avert my eyes

So before you drift
Away from earth again
Savour a glance of your empire
And if it’s your last, dear
I won’t be surprised
But if you ask nicely, I’ll avert my eyes

~ Anonymous

Leave a Reply

